fine greycoat blackshirtSPRINGFIELD –Thanks to a new law introduced by State Senator Laura Fine (D-Glenview), necessary funding for the Housing Authority of Cook County will be more accessible to invest in essential housing programs for the community.

“Funding affordable housing in Cook County is vital for many low-income families,” Fine said. “This law will help level the playing field so more land used to build affordable housing can be acquired sooner—allowing more Cook County residents to participate in these essential programs.”

Before this legislation, the Housing Authority of Cook County struggled to compete with for-profit developers when attempting to purchase property, while also having to wait for grant funding to pay for their investments. The trust fund will ensure vital developments, such as conventional public housing programs and rental assistance for families, seniors, and people with disabilities, are able to be completed sooner because the housing authority has direct access to funding.

“Housing costs are some of the biggest concerns facing people in our communities,” Fine said. “This law will ensure more people have access to affordable housing options.”

House Bill 5018 was signed into law May 13, 2022. It goes into effect immediately.

Category: Press Releases

fine powerful

SPRINGFIELD –Last night, a draft Supreme Court opinion overturning Roe v. Wade, the case legalizing abortion nationwide, was leaked. State Senator Laura Fine (D-Glenview) released the following statement condemning this decision:

“In this day and age, it is unconscionable that women would be denied reproductive rights. I will fight to ensure women do not go backwards and our fundamental rights are protected."

Category: Press Releases

fine adlSPRINGFIELD – Members of the Illinois Legislative Jewish Caucus stand together to denounce the rise of antisemitism after the Anti-Defamation League reported a historically high level of anti-Semitic incidents in 2021, including a 15% increase in anti-Semitic incidents in Illinois from 2020 to 2021.

“The rise in antisemitism in our state and around the world cannot be ignored,” said State Senator Laura Fine (D-Glenview). “Anti-Semitic rhetoric, posted online or on fliers, can lead to dangerous actions. We must work together to stand up against hatred in our communities.”

The Anti-Defamation League is an anti-hate organization focused on anti-bias education, assessing the climate of antisemitism and bigotry, and fighting hate online. Their most recent report documented the highest number of recorded incidents against American Jews since the organization began gathering data in 1979.

According to the Anti-Defamation League, a total of 175 anti-Semitic incidents took place in the Midwest this past year, with 53 incidents in Illinois. These incidents included harassment, vandalism, and assault, and have risen exponentially in the last two years.

“The increase of anti-Semitic attacks is alarming,” said State Senator Sara Feigenholtz (D-Chicago). “Standing in solidarity with the Jewish community is a first step, but people must be upstanders, not bystanders and speak out against antisemitism."

The report also follows anti-Semitic incidents in the district Fine represents. Anonymous flyers depicting Jewish politicians—including Senator Fine and Governor JB Pritzker—with anti-Semitic language were distributed to homes in Park Ridge, Glenview, and Niles.

“Anti-Semitic attacks are increasing not only around the world but also in our backyards,” Representative Bob Morgan (D-Highwood) said. “It is important that we strongly condemn the spread of hate to keep our communities safe and welcoming for people of all faith backgrounds.”

To read the full report from the Anti-Defamation League, click here.

Category: Press Releases

FINAL EOS Quote Fine GreenSPRINGFIELD –This year’s Illinois state budget makes mental health a priority. State Senator Laura Fine (D-Glenview) was pleased to support the Fiscal Year 23 budget, which invests in mental health care across the state, including funding for the 9-8-8 suicide hotline.

“The pandemic has amplified a mental health crisis across every age group and demographic in Illinois,” Senator Fine said. “We need to ensure our friends and loved ones have access to the care they need.”

The budget will put $5 million in funding for the 9-8-8 mental health hotline. The hotline will provide crucial support services to individuals in crisis. Senator Fine’s initiative created a fund to maintain the hotline in Illinois, which will be operational in July. The fund will help ensure financial assistance is available to hire caseworkers, operators, and provide training to ensure the hotline is a high-quality resource for all Illinoisians.

The budget also invests $50 million in addiction treatment, supporting people recovering from behavioral and mental health issues across the state.

“In the past two years, the number of people across the state with mental or behavioral health issues has risen exponentially,” Senator Fine said. “It is more important than ever that we make mental health care more accessible. Mental health is just as important as physical health, and I am glad our budget reflects that by increasing access to and investing in this necessary care.”

If signed by the governor, the FY 23 budget will take effect July 1, 2022.

Category: Press Releases

COVID19 Resources

COVID19 Updates

Read Past e Newsletters


eNewsletter Signup
  1. First Name(*)
    Invalid Input
  2. Last Name(*)
    Invalid Input
  3. Email Address(*)
    Invalid Input

Contact Information

Springfield Office:
121C Capitol Building
Springfield, IL 62706
(217) 782-2119

District Office:
1812 Waukegan Road
Suite A
Glenview, IL 60025
(847) 998-1717